Monaghan Footballers

Monaghan footballers have punched above their weight for many years and are a solid division one team and top ten Gaelic football teams in the country.

Monaghan: A GAA Timeline

When What
1887 First Monaghan GAA County Board established
1888 Monaghan win the first-ever Ulster SFC
1906 Clones hosts its first Ulster SFC Final (the 1904 competition)
1908 Patrick Whelan elected as Monaghan’s first Ulster Uachtarán
1909 Camogie is introduced to Monaghan
1913 Eoin O’Duffy is appointed Secretary of Comhairle Uladh
1917 County wins third Ulster SFC in four years
1925 St Macartan’s College wins a first MacRory Cup
1927 Monaghan win the first Dr McKenna Cup competition and retain it a year later
1930 Monaghan reach the All-Ireland Senior Football Final: the Owen Ward Cup is launched
1932 Monaghan start a run of six McKenna Cup Finals in-a-row
1934 St Macartan’s complete a MacRory Cup three-in-a-row
1938 Monaghan wins an eleventh Ulster SFC
1939 The County Minor team wins a first Ulster MFC, regaining the title in 1940 and 1945
1944 St Tiarnach’s Park, Clones is opened
1956 Monaghan wins the All-Ireland JFC and St Macartan’s College wins an eighth MacRory Cup
Emyvale won the 1st ever All Ireland Scor title.
1972 Castleblaney Faughs (Nuachleas) win a first Ulster Scór title
1979 Monaghan regain the Ulster SFC after 41 years: Nudie Hughes becomes the County’s first All-Star
1980 Scotstown complete three-in-a-row Ulster SFC titles
1981 County’s first Ulster Under 21 Football title is won
1983 Emyvale (Ballad Group) win a 1st All Ireland Scor title
1985 Monaghan complete an historic NFL and Ulster SFC double:Defeated by Kerry in All Ireland semi final after a re-play. Mary Lynch is elected Uachtarán Camógaíochta na nGael
1986 Monaghan reach NFL final, defeated by Laois
1988 Monaghan win a 14th Ulster SFC and the hurlers complete an Ulster JHC three-in-a-row
1991 First Monaghan Ladies County Board is established: Castleblaney Faughs win a second Ulster SFC title
1994 The redevelopment of St Tiarnach’s Park is completed
1996 Monaghan win a first All-Ireland Ladies SFC and retain the title the following year
1997 The County’s hurlers win a first All-Ireland Junior title
1998 C’Blayney (Ballad Group) win 1st Scor na nOg All Ireland title
2000 Sean McCague is elected Uachtarán CLG
2001 Monaghan win a first Ulster Vocational Schools Football titleDermott Mc Dermott win county’s 1st Ulster All Star
2003 The Senior footballers win a record 14th Dr Mc Kenna Cup
2004 Pat McEnaney referees his third All-Ireland SFC Final
2005 Monaghan Harps win Ulster JFC Club TitleInniskeen win Ulster IFC Club Title

1 Ulster All Star – Tommy Freeman

2006 Inniskeen win All-Ireland Intermediate Football title
2007 The GAA Centre of Excellence at Cloghan opens7 Ulster All –  Stars Dessie  Mone, Gary Mc Quaid, Damian Freeman, Owen Lennon, Rory Woods, Vincent Corey, Tommy Freeman
2008 Paraic Duffy is appointed Ard-Stiúrthoir of the GAANational Hurling League Division 4

Drumhowan  win Ulster JFC Club Title

1Ulster All Star – Tommy Freeman

2009 All Ireland Vocational Schools Football WinnersEmyvale win Ulster JFC Club Title
2010 Darren Doherty All Ireland under 16 Handball champion1 Ulster All Star – Dick Clerkin
2011 Gaeil Triúcha wins Division 1 MFC for the first timeRonan Meegan (Inniskeen) & Peter Treanor (Castleblayney) win Rackard Cup All-Stars
2012 Kieran Jap Finlay top scorer in 1979 Ulster Football Final passed to his eternal rewardRockcorry reached Senior League status for the first time in their history  Darren Hughes captains Ulster to Railway Cup Honours

Monaghan minor hurlers win Ulster Division 2 and Ulster Minor Shield Final

2013 Monaghan seniors and minors win Ulster Titles for the first time in the same year. It is the seniors 15th title and the minors 4th Seniors defeated Donegal 0 – 13 to 0 – 7  Minors defeated Tyrone 4 – 10 to 2 – 147 Ulster All Stars – Rory Began, Colin Walshe, Drew Wylie, Dessie Moen, Darren Hughes, Kieran Hughes, Conor Mc Manus

2 National All Stars  – Colin Walshe, Conor Mc Manus

Ladies defeated in All Ireland Senior Final by Cork

4 Ladies All Stars – Gráinne Mc Nally, Sharon Courtney, Cora Courtney, Caoimhe Mohan

2 All Ireland Scór na nÓg Titles –  Instrumental Group Drumhowan Recitation – Colm Quirke (Clones)

Emyvale win Ulster Club Junior Football Title

Truagh win Ulster Club intermediate Football Title

2014 Truagh become 2nd Monaghan Club to win All Ireland Intermediate Club Title by beating Kiltane of Mayo by 2 – 21 to 2 – 131 All Ireland Scór na nÓg Title Drumhowan win the Instrumental Title for 2nd year in a row

4 Ulster All Stars – Rory Beggan, Drew Wylie, Dessie Mone, Conor Mc Manus

2015 Monaghan win Ulster SFC title for the 16th timeConor Mc Manus wins 2nd National All Star

5 Ulster All Stars – Vincent Corey, Ryan Wylie, Dessie Mone, Karl O’ Connell, Conor Mc Manus  – Conor Mc Manus Player of the Year

Ryan Wylie is nominated for National Young Player of the Year

Monaghan GAA win  Website of the Year at the 2015 Mac Namee Awards

2016 Truagh win Scór Sinsir All Ireland in the Léiriú categoryMonaghan Senior Ladies win Ulster SFC title overcoming Cavan